INEC Declares Anambra Election Inconclusive, Shifts Election In Ihiala LGA To Nov 09

INEC Declares Anambra Election Inconclusive, Shifts Election In Ihiala LGA To Nov 09

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared the governorship election in Anambra State as inconclusive.

This follows alleged irregularities discovered in most communities in Ihiala Local Government Area which has 148,407 registered voters.

The declaration was made in the early hours of Monday, around 12:20 a.m by the state Returning Officer for the election, Florence Obi, the vice-chancellor of University of Calabar.

Mrs Obi said; “Based on constitutional provision and consideration of the Electoral Act as well as the revised regulations and guidelines for the conduct of elections issued by the commission, supplementary election is indicated for Ihiala Local Government Area,” the state returning officer.

She added that the constitution provides for a candidate to secure both the highest number of votes cast and 25 per cent of votes cast in at least two-third of the local government areas of the state to declare the winner.

“Therefore, it is important to complete the election in Ihiala to make this determination,” she said.

Politics Hub Nigeria recalls that on Sunday, Mr.Ahmadu Umar, the Collation Officer in charge of Ihiala Local Government had announced that there was no election in the council area on Saturday due to the activities of some politicians who tried to rig the election.

It was further gathered that the election has been rescheduled to hold on Tuesday, November 09, 2021.

See also  More Covid-19 Cases In Lagos, Ebonyi & Edo As Nigeria Records 571 New Cases

INEC also warned trouble makers to steer clear of all the venues where the election will hold in the Ihiala Council area.

Politics Hub Nigeria reports that Prof.Charles Soludo of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), has so far scored a total of 103,946 votes and won the election in 18 out of the 21 local government areas of the state.

Valentine Ozigbo of the PDP and Ifeanyi Uba of the YPP won in one local government area respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!